Looking through my recent blog posts (see below), I have come to one undeniable conclusion; I'm not a great blogger. This is not to say I think I'm a bad writer, I don't have much to say via my blog, or that I cannot become a good blogger; I just haven't hit my stride yet. But for you, my Kevin Hogan faithful out there, I'm going to make a few promises going forward for this blog:

1. I'm going to blog for you.

No more are the days of blogging for my JOUR 4953 class (although my posts may be an assignment from that class). I will blog so that my multitude of fans out there can read, understand and know where I'm coming from on my coverage of the current election. 

2. My voice will dominate the blog. 

Going hand-in-hand with blogging towards my audience, I think it's important to include my personal writing style and let you get a feel for me. My writing will no longer be stiff, it will no longer be like reading a history report, rather it will be like having a conversation with me. A grammatically correct conversation with me. 

3. I'm going to care what I'm writing about, and not be afraid to be controversial. 

I'm going to ensure that The Houston Chronicle is the most doggone interesting paper in the world, for better or for worse. I'm not going to be easy on it, but rather I want to and I want you to understand what this paper is all about. The more I care about the writing, the better writing it will be and the more I hope you will care about reading my blog. 

Usually I'd include some sort of picture or more links here, but this is the "Kevin Hogan manifesto for a better blog" so I didn't feel it was appropriate. But in the future, expect links and pictures galore. 

Sincerely,

Kevin Hogan



Leave a Reply.